NEXT BEST THING: Author Interview

RightCrookedBookCoverImage

“Next Best Thing” is a pay-it-forward blog where one author launches a book, posts this brief interview, and then soon links the blog to another launching author.

Here goes nothing!

1. What is the title of your book?

PELICAN BAY

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

See my recent blog post entitled, “Dream Muse: The Inspiration Behind Pelican Bay.”

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Genre is a fickle, abstruse beast! I write books and my publisher calls them mystery suspense. I suppose I could call them something else. Perhaps literary fiction tinged with mystery, suspense, and magical realism? What is most enigmatic is that good stories cross so many lines. I think that we just need to gift box wrap things to sell them best. So whatever works, my wonderful publisher! Actually, if you love a good mystery suspense, PELICAN BAY is a MUST READ for you.

4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

I keep dreaming about Johnny Depp playing Captain Shelby. My God, he would be unbelievably perfect! And I’m going to keep dreaming until it happens. ; )

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Some things are better left alone.

6. Who published your book?

Imajin Books, in my humble opinion, the most cutting-edge, formidable small publishing house in the history of small publishing houses! It’s owner and acquisitions editor, Cheryl Kaye Tardif, happens to be a multiple bestselling author herself, and is happy to pass on her wisdom to authors she takes on.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

PELICAN BAY actually began as a short story which I completed in 2011. The short story took only eight months to write. Then, in an effort to land a literary agent, when I turned it into a novel, I had to dedicate another six months, not to mention re-writing. So I have been playing with “my baby” for almost three years now. Captain Shelby is the most difficult character I have ever created, and most of that three years was spent on him.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I am not trying to be original or difficult here, but in all sincere honesty. None.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Again, see my post entitled, “Dream Muse: The Inspiration Behind Pelican Bay.”

10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

Pelican Bay, South Carolina, is not a real place. However, its background elements are based a lot on the beautiful, very real elements of Carolina coastal life, which makes it real in the reader’s mind. But after all, what is real?

I was very blessed to have this blog idea passed on to me by the wonderfully talented, Man Martin. He is the award-winning author of “Paradise Dogs,” a unique, interesting, keenly written, beautiful book. He first book was “Days of the Endless Corvette,” and his latest book is “Scoring Bertram Wiggly.” Visit his Web site at: http://www.manmartin.net, and his blog at http://www.manmartin.blogspot.com.

Thanks Man!

Yours in literature,
J.G.C.

Leave a Reply

