Top Ten Funniest 1-Star Reviews, Volume III

Top Ten Funniest 1-Star Reviews, Volume III

This blog series started as a cathartic way to deal with the “rite of passage” of bad reviews for new authors. But now, three volumes later, it has also become damned good Friday entertainment. These reviews are from books by classic and top selling authors on Amazon. They are shared in the spirit of author evolution and entertainment, and no offense is meant toward the authors in any way.

10. “I actually enjoyed reading this book. I thought it was enlightning.” Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut

9. “The language is atrocious – not something I could/would recomment.” Triple Threat by Joel Goldman

8. “Thought this was crap. Locke had you going throughout the whole book …” How I Sold One Million eBooks in 5 Months by John Locke

7. “I couldn’t even get past the first chapter – it seems that every other scene was filled with blood and horrible things.” HeartsBlood (Vampire novel) by Carolyn McCray

6. “Felt I had to finish the series, so I read all 3, but I wouldn’t recommend them to anyone.” Insurgent by Veronica Roth

5. “Unfortunately i cannot give this one a raiting i was unable to open it i have a mac it would be really teriffic if it could be made mac friendly.” Oh Myyy by George Takei

4. “i don’t really need to be informed about newyork” The New York Times

3. “If I had a “Whaa??” shelf, this would be the first book on it.” The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

2. “I was doing a research paper on the year 1984, and according to my teacher, NONE of this actually happened.
I got a flippin’ F.” 1984 by George Orwell

1. “Words cannot express my hatred for this book. If I could find every copy of this book I’d bundle them up and hurl them into the nearest nuclear reactor, gather the residue, and put it on the next probe to a neighboring galaxy. If I had a functional time machine, I’d seriously consider making sure this book never was created.” Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

Yours in literature,
J.G.C.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Funniest 1-Star Reviews, Volume III

  1. chrishillauthor March 8, 2014 / 9:19 am

    This really made me laugh – why would you even waste your time doing a review if you had nothing worthwhile to add. The Vonnegut one if found particularly bizarre – if you got something from the book why give it a one star review??

Leave a Reply

