The Frustrated Poet

The Frustrated Poet

I am not a frustrated poet; I don’t try to rhyme my lines. I don’t try to use fancy metaphors, or the thesaurus a hundred times. I’ve no use for alliteration, adding avid airs to ardent analogy, or seducing incessant similes, inducing sweet insanity. I wouldn’t dare to define symbolism, or allegory or abstract prose, all I did was write a novel, about an old fisherman and his woes. You blamed me because my story, drenched with the sea, lent far too much description, and was annoyingly literary. You said I gave no answers, only plagued you with more questions, yet you read it till the end, like an unwitting fiction pedestrian. What harm did I do, I’d like to know? Did I cast your heart to and fro? Or was it the sea, flowing through my pen, that enraged and incited you so? I could slenderize my words, stifle the images, draw the plank, and shorten my sentences. I could write only action, ignore the sea, discard the subtle tension, the creative voice inside me. But then who would you flog, who would you blame, when the words let you down? Would you curse the sea, hate the old man, when all originality drowns? Please let me evolve, please let me work, find my writer’s soul in stride. So when you try my next book, granting a reader’s reprieve, you can curse that poet inside.

Yours in literature,
J.G.C.

2 thoughts on “The Frustrated Poet

  1. MyBookFairy April 18, 2014 / 10:47 pm

    Touche’ sir, touche’!

    As you and I spoke via Twitter before we were connected via Facebook, I felt that the story was slowed down some by the descriptiveness, but I don’t think it was annoying, just hard to sink my teeth into at points. I did however keep reading and I found both answers AND more questions. Isn’t that the point of a story in a series though, to keep you wanting more by leaving you wondering?

    I finished Pelican Bay in mid March and I am going to read the next Captain Shelby book, even now I find myself wondering about that man and his true nature, his motivation, etc.

    I love the person that captioned it a love story from the Carolina coast, and I think it has so many aspects. Some people just love to hate, but I will keep reading and can’t wait for the next!

    • Jesse Giles Christiansen April 19, 2014 / 7:28 pm

      Thank you so much for your comment. I’m so glad that you gave my book a chance, and that you’re interested in learning more about the old fisherman’s past. I’m glad to have you as a reader!

Leave a Reply

