There You Were, Mom

There You Were, Mom

My child road might have left Robert Frost’s mind in splinters,
and there you were.
My life road might have swerved into a jungle of wrong,
and there you were.
So many times, I might have missed our song,
and there you were.
Now, when I think of who I am,
there you are.
Now, when I need a hand,
there you are.
And when I wonder why I’m not the broken star,
there you are.
When I wonder why I’ve come so far,
there you are.
When my tattered body cries to fall back,
there you are.
And even one day, when you’re gone, in the man I am,
there you’ll be.
You’re my morning sun, my afternoon glory,
a thousand calming stars upon this gypsy’s heart.

Happy Mother’s Day.

All my love,
Jesse.

Leave a Reply

