The Inspiration Behind GOTH TOWN

IBGothTownBlog

I’m both excited and nervous about the release of GOTH TOWN in a few days. While the story is written in the style of a classic Christmas Tale the likes of Dickens and Dr. Seuss, having post-apocalyptic and gothic colors, it is not your typical Holiday story. However, I believe an artist’s audacity, when it comes to honestly capturing his or her vision on paper, should be as limitless as the sky; if the artist doesn’t take chances, both artist and reader become cheated, ultimately. I deeply believe.

The premise for GOTH TOWN began several years ago when I conceived of a place where Christmas did not only not exist, but was outlawed. Could such a place exist? And if so, what would the repercussions be? Of soul, of mind, even of body?

The original title of the novel was Xmas Town, but, being a person of faith in things greater than one’s self, love, beauty, a higher power, I just couldn’t live with the taste of that title. By the same token, I wanted something dark and faithless. The literature and architecture of Gothic Times, as well as my next favorite character of my career, Lord Gothly, logically emerged from the somewhat black concept of such a place.

My greatest motivation, however, was to write a tale suitable to modern times and to publish it privately in the tradition of Philip Van Doren Stern, the author of The Greatest Gift. He wrote his short story and sent it to his friends and family as an extra special Christmas Card of sorts. The rest was history (once Hollywood got their mountainous paws on it and renamed it It’s a Wonderful Life). I’ll be giving the paperbacks away to friends and family as my Christmas gifts this year.

But did I achieve the haunting, original vision of a classic Christmas Tale in GOTH TOWN that I strove for, after two years of planning and writing? My readers will be the judge.

Yours in literature,

J.G.C.

2 thoughts on “The Inspiration Behind GOTH TOWN

Leave a Reply

