L.E.G.A.C.Y. Blog Series, “L:” Join the Lighthearted

L.E.G.A.C.Y.BlogImage

First of all, I want to apologize to my loyal blog readers for so many re-runs over the last few months. I moved to Germany, married, and went on a two-week honeymoon in the Mediterranean. I know, I know, not an excuse; please think of it as an indebted explanation. I do so much appreciate those of you who read my blog every Friday.

Major life changes, especially as one gets older, do start one thinking about what he or she might leave behind. I was talking about this to a good college/philosophy friend, Cody Craig, the last time I was in the U.S.

Cody, this Friday’s blog is dedicated to you. It is also dedicated to all of you who believe that we owe the world something, rather than the other way around.

RomeColloseum

After months of thinking about my life, where I am, where I’m going, my thoughts turned to legacy. I’m one of those who believes that what we do echos in eternity. I don’t know how it does… I just do. As an artist, I want to leave something behind. I believe the best we can do is figure out what we’re best at, then do it with such passion, moving as many people as possible, that we leave a legacy behind.

But how do we accomplish this?

This is a tough question, and after months of reflection, I came up with my L.E.G.A.C.Y. acronym. Over the next six weeks, I will share one letter, or principle, at a time. I invite my blog readers to comment freely. I hope that whatever your gift is, be it artistry, parenting, a social or professional calling, etc, that my ideas help you leave a better legacy. That is the goal.

So today we cover “L.” L is for LIGHTHEARTED.

It is ironic that we begin here, because I have always been one to take things much too seriously … and I’m also almost the world’s poster child for “late bloomers.” Maybe it’s the big thorn on the rose of sensitivity, but I feel I’ve spent most of my life reacting to everything, rather than responding, living often in a state of excited misery. And yes, I’ve had my share of life tragedies, beginning very young. But before long, one realizes that all of that stuff was never in one’s control in the first place. And moreover, things are so out of our control that, when you combine it with the big mystery of even the smallest things, it becomes kind of funny, doesn’t it?

Print

So I started laughing at things at some point. In fact, I’m laughing right now. Can you hear me? And remembering not to take the merry go round of life to seriously, everything feels a lot better. Suddenly, I can focus all my previously wasted emotional energy on the more important things. Also, it is fun, interesting, and refreshing to start seeing the irony, the humor, in life (I think my novels have improved as as result).

Is this starting to make any sense?

I hope so. I look forward to your thoughts on this. In the meantime, remain lighthearted until next week, when we tackle our second principle of L.E.G.A.C.Y., “E.”

Yours in literature,
J.G.C.

Leave a Reply

